UNIQUE RENAISSANCE CHATEAU OPEN TO THE PUBLIC FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER
The Nové Zámky building (New Chateau), a rare example of early renaissance architecture in our country that is visible from a large distance and from all cardinal points, has dominated the village of Nesovice (7 km to the east of Bučovice) for nearly five centuries.
Nové Zámky boasts a skilful architectural connection of the vanishing castle type – Italian castello – and a new, representative but still fortified mansion residence in the style of Italian “barco” villa. The intention of its builder, the knight Záviš of Víckov, who in 1561 ordered the construction of a very unusual mansion type in Bohemia resembling fortifications of northern Italian cities, has unfortunately never been fully completed. After his untimely death in 1569, both shortage of money and lack of interest prevented the completion of the building, originally planned in a U-shape, and the mansion remained a mere torso. Up to 1870s outbuildings were attached to the building and the whole site was surrounded by double walls with gardens. However, these parts had to be torn down due to their state of decay under the Lichtensteins (in 1826). The plastic elements of the roof attic with the curtail shields and the so-called swallow tails, so characteristic for the mansion, are really unique and unparalleled in both Bohemia and Moravia.
Within its more than 400 year’s history, the Nové Zámky mansion has had over 20 owners and tenants. Among the most prominent ones, we can mention the Royal Vice-Chamberlain and Highest Scrivener Mikuláš of Hrádek from 1580-1623, the Imperial Chamberlain Mikuláš Nusser of Nussek from 1624-1647, and Josef Leopold the Lord Petrasch from 1750-1772, the last being the founder of the first scientific association in the Austro-Hungarian Empire (Societas incognitorum). The frequent changes of owners were, of course, far from being contributory to the mansion. However, the recent 20th century, and especially the period from 1940s till 1960s, can be considered the most unsettled times for Nové Zámky. First Hitler rewarded his follower, a German named Buechelmeyer, with the mansion as a gift and within the two following decades the local collective farm used the historic building as a poultry farm, cowshed, pigsty, granary, etc. As a consequence the interior fresco decoration was damaged. The devastation was completed when the park surrounding the mansion was turned into a sheep grazing and a garden supplying material for wreath-making. Unfortunately, even the new owners – restorers and museums - did not pay proper attention to the building: many square metres of concrete covering the original brick and parquet floors, tiling, shower baths, toilets, low-quality facades, etc. give evidence of their control.
After a protracted legal battle the mansion was returned to its last private owners – the Florián family in 2001/2002.
The castle will be open to the public from April to October and visitors will have the opportunity to admire the mansion’s interiors housing examples of period furniture as well as permanent and travelling exhibitions. Souvenirs and refreshments will be available too. The “Cultural Summer at the Mansion” (concerts, theatre performances, exhibitions, etc.) will be held from 14th June - 14th September 2003.
And how to get to Nesovice? When going by car take route E50 (Brno – Uherské Hradiště), other possible approaches are from Vyškov or Koryčany, or you can come by train (railway line 340 Brno – Veselí n. Mor.).